Frequently asked questions

What is the purpose of the awards?

The Colorsteel® awards have been designed to celebrate excellence in long run roofing, cladding and architecture, elevating pride and professionalism in the industry

What are the categories and who can enter?

If you are an installer working with Colorsteel® products you can enter the following categories:

  • Colorsteel® Roofer of the Year
  • Colorsteel® Young Roofer of the Year

If you are an architect, designer or builder of a project you can enter the following categories:

  • Colorsteel® Residential Building of the Year
  • Colorsteel® Commercial Building of the Year

The Colorsteel® Shed of the Year category will celebrate the country’s best sheds, carports and garages. Entries are open to the companies behind the construction of these sheds.

Everyone industry wide is eligible to enter the Colorsteel® Service to Roofing category. This Award will recognise an individual that has made a significant contribution to the industry. There are no limitations on who this award may go to, so start nominating your colleagues!

Is there a timeframe for projects to have been completed by, as part of the entry criteria?

All projects being entered must have been completed post 31st July 2019 to be eligible.

How do I enter?

The process to enter is easy. Fill out the entry form on our website, remembering to include all relevant details and attaching high-quality images to showcase your project and that’s the first part done! Incomplete Entries will not be accepted. Entries become final on completion of scrutineering and verification by the committee team. Entrants must be working and living in New Zealand to enter or be nominated. Entrants can enter themselves, and or be nominated by an employer or colleague. For more details, please refer to the entry form and Terms & Conditions.

When do entries close?

Entries will close 31st July 2021.

What is the judging process?

Judging is a two-stage process.

Stage one: Short list finalists will be selected by the judging panel based off your initial entry form submission. Finalists will be contacted within 30 days of entries closing.

Stage two: Finalists will be asked to provide subsequent supporting information and to organise the on-site assessment and interview which forms part of round 2 judging.

What is the judging criteria?

The Judges will be looking for exceptional use of Colorsteel® excellent workmanship, high-quality installation, the degree of difficulty, impeccable client service and the ability to problem solve. Each category will be judged on slightly different criteria. Further information on the judging criteria for each category is available here.

Can I enter more than once in the same category?

Yes, you can enter as many projects as you like in the same category. Multiple entries from the same entrant, will be judged individually. Each entry will be treated as a stand-alone entry and judged as such.

Does it cost to enter?

There is no cost to enter the Colorsteel® Awards.
You may need to consider any costs you might incur in relation to submitting your project images as part of the entry. Entry images are used for the initial round of judging to determine the finalists.

Who is on the judging panel?

A judging panel with extensive roofing & architectural experience will lead the charge for 2021:

  • Graham Moor - Roofing Association New Zealand, CEO
  • Mark Bishop - Managing Director, Roof Safe NZ & RANZ Executive
  • Ken Crosson - Creative Director, Crosson Architects
  • Lindley Naismith - Director, Scarlet Architects & Co-Chair, Architects + Women NZ
  • Rod Newbold - New Zealand Steel, Product Launch Manager & Metal Roofing Manufacturers Life Member

When and where are the awards held?

The Awards ceremony will be held at the Auckland Town Hall on Friday October 15th 2021, 6.30pm.

How do I get tickets for the awards evening?

If you’re a finalist, you can expect to be on the guest list. Otherwise please get in touch with your supplier or Key Account Manager at New Zealand Steel for further details.

What are the prizes?

  • Colorsteel® Roofer of the Year
    • Category A: Tray Profile – $10,000 Cash
    • Category B: Trapezoidal Profile – $10,000 Cash
    • Category C: Corrugate Profile – $10,000 Cash
    • Supreme Roofer of the Year – $5,000 Cash
  • Colorsteel® Young Roofer of the Year – $10,000 Cash
  • Colorsteel® Service to Roofing – A 2-night ‘Air New Zealand Luxury Mystery Break’
  • Colorsteel® Residential Building of the Year – $10,000 Cash
  • Colorsteel® Commercial Building of the Year – $10,000 Cash
  • Colorsteel® Shed of the Year – $10,000 Cash

Enter The 2021 COLORSTEEL® Awards
Entries Close 31/07/21